User Tools

Site Tools


teachers:backing_up_data

Differences

This shows you the differences between two versions of the page.

Link to this comparison view

Both sides previous revision Previous revision
Next revision
Previous revision
Last revision Both sides next revision
teachers:backing_up_data [2015/05/06 14:26]
abrashear Added title.
teachers:backing_up_data [2015/08/11 15:06]
abrashear Added application data
Line 1: Line 1:
 ====== Backing up Data ====== ====== Backing up Data ======
  
-Data backup for teachers is not all that different from [[students:backing_up_data|backing up data as a student]], so be sure to follow that article firstAn extra step teachers/staff should do is to try to force a file sync so that your data is also backed up to our network. It is especially important that you do this before turning your tablet in for imaging. You might recall that we also make you sync your files when your tablet is returned.+Data backup for teachers and staff is somewhat different from students. Employee data is synchronized to the networkBefore turning in your computer you should verify that your files have synchronized correctly. It is also prudent to regularly verify that your files are synchronized without conflicts.
  
 ====== Synchronizing Your Files ====== ====== Synchronizing Your Files ======
-Your files in your Documents folder are synchronized between the La Salle network and your tablet. The idea is that if your tablet crashes, there is little fear of data loss. By default, the synchronization happens in the background whenever Windows decides to do it. Sometimes it might be a good idea to force a synchronization to speed things along. To force a synchronization, follow these steps: 
-  - Open the Start Menu, type in //Sync Center// and open it. The icon is green. 
-  - In the Sync Center window, you should see a folder named "Offline Files". In the bar above that folder, click "Sync All". 
-  - Wait while the synchronization runs. When it is successful, it will either say "Sync Completed" or "Last sync on //date//", where //date// is the current date. 
-    - Depending on how many files are syncing, you may have to restart the sync process a few times. 
-  - When the synchronization is complete, you may want to check your conflicts and try to resolve them. 
  
-===== Resolving Sync Conflicts ===== +**Remember**: only your Documents, Pictures, Videos, and Music folders are synchronized to the network. Your Desktop and Downloads folders are not. If you need anything from them, be sure to copy it to your Documents folder prior to forcing a sync. Resolving sync conflicts will ensure that the latest versions of your files are uploaded to La Salle’s network storage. When you receive a new computer or your machine is re-imaged, your files will return. 
-Sync conflicts happen sometimesThere are a number of reasons for itbut here are some possiblities: + 
-  * You worked on another La Salle computer and changed some files while your main computer was offline+  - Go to the Start Screen and search for **Sync Center**. Open the Sync Center. 
-  * The file modification times on your computer and the server don'match.+  - Click the **Sync All** button. Wait for the sync to complete. 
 +    * Sync is complete when the //Status// shows //Last sync on (today’s date)// or //Sync complete//
 +  - In the left pane, click **View sync conflicts**If there are no conflicts listedyou are done! If you have conflicts, continue on. 
 +  - Click on one of the conflicts and press CTRL + A on your keyboard to select all of the conflicts. Click **Resolve**
 +  - Eventually, you will be prompted to determine how to handle the conflicts. You almost always want to select the top option (keep whatever action happened on your computer).\\  
 +  - Check the checkbox at the bottom to apply that action for all conflicts, then select the top option. 
 +  - Wait while the conflicts are resolved. You may be prompted again to handle different conflict types. Continue following advice from the previous step. 
 +  - When all of the conflicts are resolved or you have not been prompted for a long time (five minutes), click on **View sync partnerships** in the left pane. 
 +  - Click the **Sync All** button. Wait for the sync to complete. 
 +  - If there are conflicts, work to resolve them again. If you go to the //View sync conflicts// screen and see no conflicts, you are done!\\  
 +    * If the //View sync partnerships// screen show conflicts, but the //View sync conflicts// screen does not, donworry about it. 
 + 
 +===== Back up Bookmarks and Browser Data ===== 
 + 
 +Depending on what browser(s) you use, you have several options: 
 + 
 +  * [[:backing_up_browser_data#set_up_firefox_sync|Set up Firefox Sync]] 
 +  * [[:backing_up_browser_data#sign_in_to_chrome|Sign in to Chrome]] 
 +  * [[:backing_up_browser_data#sync_internet_explorer_settings|Sync Internet Explorer Settings]] 
 + 
 +If you prefer to avoid sync, you can export bookmarks manually for [[:backing_up_browser_data#backing_up_internet_explorer_favorites|Internet Explorer]], [[:backing_up_browser_data#exporting_chrome_bookmarks|Chrome]], or [[:backing_up_browser_data#exporting_firefox_bookmarks|Firefox]]. 
 + 
 + 
 +===== Back up Application Data ===== 
 + 
 +Many applications (such as ExamView) store data on the C:\ drive. In the case of ExamView, this may be under C:\ExamView or C:\Program Files (x86)\ExamView. Prior to turning in your computer, you want to make sure you copy this application data to another location (such as your Document folder or a flash drive). If you need any guidance with your particular software, the Help Desk can assist.
  
-To resolve conflicts: 
-  - Open the Start Menu, type in //Sync Center// and open it. The icon is green. 
-  - In the Sync Center window, you should see a folder named "Offline Files". If you have conflicts, it will say so under the progress bar on the right side of the window. Click "View sync conflicts" on the left side of the window to view them. 
-  - In the Conflicts window you will see a list of all conflicting files. To resolve conflicts, right-click on the file(s) and select "View options to resolve". 
-  - When viewing the options, //usually// what you want to do is keep whatever changes were made on your own computer.  
-    - One case where you may not want to keep the changes on your computer is if you've been using another computer in the building and you know the version of the file on your computer is outdated. 
-    - As you go through and resolve conflicts, if you have one that won't resolve, look at the modification times on the files. If they are the same, try keeping the version on the server instead of the one on your computer. 
teachers/backing_up_data.txt · Last modified: 2016/09/13 15:39 by abrashear